VIRTUAL PROGRAMS

VIRTUAL PROGRAMMING 

This page will be your resource for our virtual workshops and the workbooks, worksheets and other items related to virtual programming

The Dream Center houses internal and outside programming that is specifically designed for catalytic change. Dream Center Programming is ALWAYS FREE and can be enrolled in via our website.

To sign up for a class, please click on the flyer or the title of the program and fill out the form.

Zoom_logo ZOOM

All classes will be taught on Zoom (unless noted). Please download the Zoom client to your computer prior to the class by visiting zoom.us.

SIGN UP NOW!

SrConnect-Sheets-TDC_VIR

SENIOR CONNECT: CREATING GOOGLE SHEETS & EXCEL
SPREADSHEETS FOR EVERYDAY USE


AUG 30 – SEP 27
MONDAYS  |
6 PM EDT | 5 PM CDT | 3 PM PDT
THERE IS NO CLASS ON 9/6 LABOR DAY

Spreadsheets are powerful tools to organize and manage your day to day
tasks; financials, contact info, passwords storage, and more. Today, the
majority of companies use some form of spreadsheet to organize data —
it’s an essential skill to have in the workforce. Develop the skills of
creating, organizing and navigating spreadsheets with endless uses, the
only limit is your imagination.

Join us for this 4-week workshop where you will learn:
• an introduction to Google Sheets and Microsoft Excel
• data entry and keeping information safe
• event planning
• creating a calendar and journal
• sharing your spreadsheet with others

SIGN UP NOW!

PivotonPurpose-TDC_VIR_nupic

PIVOTING ON PURPOSE: WELCOME TO ACT II

SEP 8 & 22
WEDNESDAYS  | 6:30 PM EDT | 5:30 PM CDT | 3:30 PM PDT

Titles. They are often used to define what we do, but rarely define
who we are. This two-part series intends to remove the labels and
go beyond your goals and desires, and into your own personal
identity.

In Part 1, we will discuss and discover the talents and gifts you are
looking to also turn into a career, as well as how to navigate in your
day-to-day spaces with a new endeavor on the horizon.

In Part 2, you will have the opportunity to share your ideas in
presentation form, and get specific feedback and support. You will
learn tips and tools to help you embrace those talents and gifts full
throttle, as well as how to identify what comes next.  

AN IN-PERSON YOUTH PROGRAM!
SIGN UP NOW!

YouthCreativeCllt-TDC_VIR

YOUTH CREATIVE COLLECTIVE
AFTER-SCHOOL ARTISTIC EXPRESSION WORKSHOP

AGE: 4-8 years old / pre-K – 2nd grade
SESSION 1: SEPTEMBER 13 – DECEMBER 3, 2021
MONDAYS- FRIDAYS  | 3-6 PM EDT

Every perspective is unique. Every voice is powerful.
Everyone is welcome.
Classes focus on:
• creative expression — letting kids imaginations soar
• ensemble building — knowing and trusting themselves
    and each other as they build community
• confidence and focus — believing they can do anything
    they imagine
• mindfulness — self-soothing tips such as yoga and
    meditation for focus

Registration is required. No walk-ins. Space is limited.
Parents will sign up their children for the entire 12-week
program.
*Program follows NYC DOE calendar. There will be no session
when school is closed.

AN IN-PERSON PROGRAM!
SIGN UP NOW!

HappyYogaInThePark-TDC_2021

HAPPY YOGA IN THE PARK

SEP 15 – NOV 3
WEDNESDAYS |
6 PM EDT 

Self-care is an imperative practice of any aggressive dream chaser.
Take a moment mid-week and get your mind right. Om Up with us
— at Marcus Garvey Park! Research shows being in nature releases
tension. Please bring your own mat. Dress comfortably but
appropriate for exercising outdoors. Breathe and move.

Directions to Marcus Garvey Park:
Enter at 124th St and 5th Ave entrance. Make an immediate right,
walk 10 steps and the field will be on the left-hand side directly
across from the blue and yellow play structure. 

MG_Park_Circle

SIGN UP NOW!

FirstStepBiz_NYCSBS-TDC-VIR_Sep21

FIRST STEP TO STARTING A BUSINESS

FRI | SEP 17 | 6:30 PM EDT | 5:30 PM CDT | 3:30 PM PDT

Opening a business in New York City can be intimidating at the start.
Many entrepreneurs ask: where do I begin?The goal of this course is
to help you understand what it means to be a successful entrepreneur
in New York City.

During the course, you will:
• Learn about the core competencies of successful entrepreneurs
• Assess yourself for these competencies, and create a self-
    improvement plan
• Learn about the motivations and resources required to launch a
    successful business
• Define your expectations for your small business, and create an
    action plan to validate them.

Download the “First Step to Starting a Business” Attendee Workbook
by clicking on the Download Workbook button.

dwnl_workbook_button

This course is the first module in the NYC Department of Small Business
Services’ (SBS) five-course Introduction to Entrepreneurship series. It is
followed by the second module, “Creating a Business Idea that Works.”

SIGN UP NOW!

Leverage-Larnell_4_withpic

HOW TO EXPAND & LEVERAGE YOUR MARKET

TUE | SEP 28 | 6:30 PM EDT | 5:30 PM CDT | 3:30 PM PDT

You’ll learn how to best position yourself to increase connections,
and how to identify and engage with decision-makers and connectors
to increase impact in the world. 

SIGN UP NOW!

WE NYC FLYER FINAL

WE MASTER MONEY CONFERENCE: FUNDAMENTALS
OF FUNDING

TUE | SEP 28 | 11 AM EDT | 10 AM CDT | 8 AM PDT

WE NYC, The Dream Center, Brooklyn Public Library and Queens
Chamber of Commerce are hosting a free virtual conference to
connect entrepreneurs and small business owners with experts and
leaders across a number of business financial topics and organizations.

Our experts will provide strategies, tips, and hacks to help attendees
be prepared to access business financing from a variety of different
lenders. The conference includes an expert panel of funders from
different NYC institutions and fireside chats with women who have
successfully secured funding for their small business. There will also
be interactive workshops led by expert facilitators that will help
attendees prepare their businesses to meet funder expectations.

SIGN UP NOW!

HealThyselfMeditation-2021-TDC_VIR

HEAL THYSELF MEDITATION

MONDAYS  | 7:30 AM EST | 6:30 AM CST | 4:30 AM PST

Launch into the new week with a virtual mindfulness moment.
Hashtag self-care. Practice is led on Zoom.

UC-CSA-ActorsEvent_SelfTape

THE UPTOWN COLLECTIVE: SELF TAPE LIKE A STAR

MON | OCT 4 | 5:30 PM EDT | 4:30 PM CDT | 2:30 PM PDT

The Uptown Collective is teaming up with Casting Society of America’s
Training & Education committee for this workshop just for actors —
novice and professional! In this limited-space online workshop you
will learn directly from casting directors about techniques, tools and
tips for creating self-tapes. Then, actors will break into groups with
directors and get direct feedback!

Interested? Register now!

In partnership with The Dream Center, The Uptown Collective is a
community that helps develop and support the whole artist: mind,
body and spirit. Learn more about The Uptown Collective by
clicking on the logo below.